Back to All Events

Not for the Ears Alone at C4NM

  • Center for New Music 55 Taylor Street San Francisco, CA, 94102 United States (map)

The Now Hear Ensemble presents a concert at the Center for New Music. The first installment of the Not for the Ears Alone series, the program features music that exploits the potential for creativity using both the stage space and the performers’ bodies. These works make powerful musical statements, yet they are best experienced with eyes wide open. For this show, the ensemble will make use of chalkboards, a boombox, animated videos, sandpaper, samplers, and toy guitars.

The title of this concert series is a quote from Björn Heile, who used it to describe the music of Mauricio Kagel during the 1960’s—found in The Music of Mauricio Kagel. The ensemble finds a connection between those works by Kagel, usually referred to as “instrumental theater”, and the spirit of the works included in this series.

Basica presents a futurist tale showcasing an eSport music competition. Shlomowitz and Diels combine gestures and sounds in their sampler-inspired works. Llach and Goldberg depict life cycles by exploring contrasts in audio and visuals. Jacob TV and Nas delve into the connection between language and music by manipulating voice samples from life-sentenced prisoners and unveiling confessions that cool-headedly dissect and expose human morality.

Constantin Basica: Championship

flute, clarinet, viola, performer, commentator and video


Matthew Shlomowitz: Letter Piece No. 8

3 performers


Jacob TV: Grab it!

electric guitar and boombox


Natacha Diels: second nightmare for KIKU

violin and two assistants


Federico Llach & Gaby Goldberg: This Time Around

viola, flute, video and electronics


Mayke Nas: I Delayed People's Flights by Walking Slowly in Narrow Hallways

4 performers, blackboards and chalk + electronics

Not for the Ears Alone at C4NM. Thursday, April 28, 2016. 7:30 p.m. Center for New Music. $15 general / $10 members. Tickets available at the door only. For more information, please click here.